5 Comments
Sep 16, 2022Liked by P. Andrew Sandlin

Don't watch the movie of "The Snowman." Both Jo Nesbo books are great . I'll have to check out the other titles. "Spy Line" is the one that sticks out for me.

Expand full comment
Sep 16, 2022Liked by P. Andrew Sandlin

Dune is fantastic. I heard it in Audible and it was even better. Thank you for the recommendations Doc. I’ll read all these books.

Expand full comment

Considering that the Straw Men are nihilists, meaning void, meaningless and soulless, I believe the title refers to 'walking dead' bodies possessed by evil spirits who have fractured the souls and destroyed the minds of the bodies they've possessed. The brilliance of the Straw Men is diabolical because demonic. They prey on humans because the possessing spirit craves the psychic energy given off by violently tormented and tortured human spirits just prior to death of body.

Some possessed Indian god-men crave that energy too.

In Perelandra, CS Lewis applied the term 'Un Man" to a possessed scientist. The Un Man was a sadist par excellence thus, enjoyed ripping feathers out of birds, ripping open frogs, and other such things.

Expand full comment

Hannibal? I've read "The Red Dragon" and "Silence of the Lambs" and enjoyed. After I finished the "Hannibal" I was so angry at the end of it I threw the paperback against the wall as hard as I could.

Expand full comment